News

In our latest publication, we used longitudinal colon gene expression analysis from the acute epithelial injury and recovery phases of DSS colitis in mice, to inform molecular classification of Ulcerative Colitis (UC) patients. In particular, we showed that conserved inflammatory genes largely involved in neutrophil and monocyte/macrophage function enable a stable classification of two sub-types of ulcerative colitis (UC) in humans, which we called UC1 and UC2. A careful time series of colon inflammation and repair following DSS administration to mice revealed specific inflammatory, epithelial repair, and metabolic modules during the different stages of disease in mice, some of which were conserved in humans. The UC1 subgroup is characterized by an enhanced neutrophil inflammatory gene module and poor response to biological treatments. We have mapped these temporal data from the murine model to human risk genes, providing potential insight into their role in UC pathogenesis.Thus, our observation on differential responsiveness of the UC1 and UC2 subgroups demonstrate that our descriptive study of gene expression in mouse has led to meaningful insight into the use of gene expression to classify responders and non-responders to therapy and indicates the potential of this approach. This can be used for any autoimmune disease in which there is an existing experimental study.

https://rdcu.be/bH03n.

https://ki.box.com/s/pv2b0pp3oxqdefd16tkybn8fh2egsdy2

Team


Eduardo Villablanca
Group Leader
eduardo.villablanca@ki.se

Nicola Gagliani
FoAss
nicola.gagliani@ki.se

Srustidhar Das
Postdoc
srustidhar.das@ki.se

Martina Parigi
PhD Student
martina.parigi@ki.se

Chiara Sorini
Postdoc
chiara.sorini@ki.se

Oscar Diaz
PhD Student
oscar.diaz.perez@ki.se

Rebeca Cardoso
PhD Student
rebeca.cardoso@ki.se

Roham Parsa
PostDoc
roham.parsa@ki. se

Annika Frede
PostDoc
annika.frede@ki.se

Kumar Parijat Tripathi
PostDoc
kumar.tripathi@ki.se

Rodrigo Morales
PostDoc
rodrigo.morales@ki.se

Santoshnisikranth Inampudi
Research assistant
santoshnisikranth.inampudi@ki.se

Katja Kulmala
PhD Student
katja.kulmala@stud.ki.se

Xinxin Luo
PhD Student
xinxin.luo@stud.ki.se

Claudio Novella Rausell
Master Student
c.novella.rausell@gmail.com


Funding